I bought 60 ebooks in 2013. Given I also read books in hard copy, I was a bit blown away by that. At least one book a week.

Image

I decided to go through my purchases, because I have been slack with reviews and there were definitely some good books. Some stinkers too. Here are my five faves:

1. Ready Player One, Ernest Cline – I wrote about Ready Player One in this review. The book is an eighties nostalgia kick. If you were a gamer, you’ll love it.

2. Aurora: Darwin, Amanda Bridgeman – I almost didn’t read this book because the prologue was so awful. But at some point I picked it up again and fell in love with it. It has a feel similar to that of Alien the film, as a spaceship crew heads into a situation they know nothing about. The suspense is good, the characters believable. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

3. Lexicon, Max Barry – This book had me at the first page. The action was fast, the dialogue snappy. It’s about a group of people who can use words like superpowers – any author’s dream! If you’re ever uncertain of how much to reveal to the reader and when, this book does it perfectly. The narrative never gets bogged down in explanation – Barry only feeds the reader what they need to know when they need to know it. A large section of the book is also set in Broken Hill, so it gets the Australia tick of approval. It was one of my more expensive purchases, but I don’t regret one cent.

4. The Rook, Daniel O’Malley – It’s not unusual for a main character to wake up with no memory and read notes from themselves. It’s less usual for the author of the notes to have a completely different personality than the reader. Thus the book begins with a powerful clash of personalities between the main character pre and post losing her memory. The amnesiac goes to work at her paranormal secret service type agency, it only gets better. I’m looking forward to the next one.

5. Raven’s Shadow Book One: Blood Song (Raven’s Shadow), Anthony Ryan – When done well, the coming of age warrior story is always a good one. Even though we know how the general script runs, it’s interesting to see how each handles the characters’ sense of brotherhood, the betrayals, the romances. Again, can’t wait for the sequel.

(Image credit: OMG, by Andrea Schaeffer, CC2.0)

