Amazon Kindle image

Credit: Amazon

The ability of my Kindle to read me any ebook that has the text-to-speech function enabled is the only reason I am still using the device. I listen to stories while I’m washing up, while I’m cleaning the bathroom, while I’m walking to work and while I’m at the gym. I think very hard before I buy a book that doesn’t have this feature enabled. Now some authors would say that using this feature  is taking away money they could have received for the audio book rights. And if they believe that, they can make sure the feature isn’t enabled for their book. But I disagree. I wouldn’t buy the audio books. They’re too expensive given the number of them I chew through. Instead, I’d borrow them from the library or listen to music when I was doing the cleaning or exercising at the gym.

The thing about the text-to-speech function that is so positive for authors is that I read a lot more books than I would if it didn’t exist. I can easily go through two to three books a week if they’re not overly long and I have a lot of tasks that don’t need me to use my mind, meaning that I can do them with my kindle stuck in my ears. That’s probably at least three times the number of books I would consume  if I was just reading them, which equates to three times as much revenue for the industry.

So I don’t really understand why authors get upset about text to speech.

